Sperry Top-Sider Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Sperry Top-Sider
Shop Wedges & Heels or
Choose a Category

Customer reviews for Women's Darlington Penny Lug Heel

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Sperry Top-Sider.

Women's Darlington Penny Lug Heel

Achieve new heights with our nautically inspired lug sole. A fall favorite with countless wearing occasions.</>
Overall rating:
4.304 / 5
4.3
 / 
5
(23 reviews) 23
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 23 reviews
5 stars
13
4 stars
5
3 stars
4
2 stars
1
1 star
0
18 out of 21(86%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for Women's Darlington Penny Lug Heel
Review 1 for Women's Darlington Penny Lug Heel
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Comfort: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Style: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatar
From: New Yorker
Size and Width Ordered: 9M
Gender:Female
Product Use:Casual wear

Lovely Craftmanship...poor sizing

PostedDecember 10, 2012
I was thoroughly pleased with the quality of the shoe and the styling was exactly what I wanted.....the fit left me in a quandary. The toe box was too small and the heel too big. I tried walking in them several times before I finally accepted I would have to return them.
Review 2 for Women's Darlington Penny Lug Heel
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Comfort: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Style: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Size: 
Fits True to Size
Width: 
Fits True to Size
Customer avatar
From: Western MA
Size and Width Ordered: 9M
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Product Use:Casual wear
Yes, I recommend this product.

Great All Around Shoe

PostedNovember 19, 2012
I loved these shoes when I saw them online. And, I loved them even more after I bought them. They look great and feel comfortable while being stylish. What more could you ask for in a shoe? So glad I bought both colors!
Review 3 for Women's Darlington Penny Lug Heel
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Comfort: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Style: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Size: 
Fits True to Size
Width: 
Fits True to Size
Customer avatar
From: Oshkosh, WI
Size and Width Ordered: 8M
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Product Use:Casual wear
Yes, I recommend this product.

love them

PostedOctober 24, 2012
Even prettier in person - Cordovan Leather looks maroon, a little snug when I first put them on, but loosened up and were comfortable to wear throughout the day. Lug sole provides great traction, ran through the parking lot in the rain and didn't miss a step.
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Women's Darlington Penny Lug Heel
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Comfort: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Style: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Size: 
Fits True to Size
Customer avatar
From: Newton, NH
Size and Width Ordered: 8 1/2 M
Age:55-65
Gender:Female
Product Use:Night on the town
Yes, I recommend this product.

Stylelish & Comfortable

PostedAugust 28, 2012
I love these shoes. I bought them in Black and in Cognac. They have the best bottom rubber outer sole with a rounded toe. I hate pointed toe shoes. They wrecked my feet back in the early 60's and have had problems ever since. I wish there were more styles like this one (dressy & casual heals in various colors) so I could buy them. Its the thick rubber, grip bottom that makes these shoes a heaven sent to walk on. My feet are cushioned from the hard ground. The heel is nice and thick which holds good balance.
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Women's Darlington Penny Lug Heel
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Comfort: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Style: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Size: 
Fits 1/2 Size Too Small
Width: 
Fits Narrow
Customer avatar
From: Amarillo,TX
Size and Width Ordered: 7M
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Product Use:Casual wear
No, I do not recommend this product.

Nice looking shoe but....

PostedAugust 22, 2012
I loved the way this shoe looked. Unfortunately, it was too narrow in the toe box and I immediately knew that there would be no way that I could wear this shoe comfortably. So back they went :(
Review 6 for Women's Darlington Penny Lug Heel
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Comfort: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Style: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Size: 
Fits True to Size
Width: 
Fits True to Size
Customer avatar
From: Annapolis, MD
Size and Width Ordered: 8.5 M
Age:55-65
Gender:Female
Product Use:Casual wear
Yes, I recommend this product.

LOVE these dressy boat shoes!

PostedAugust 9, 2012
These shoes are so cute! Even though they are last season, bought them on sale and adore how they look like SPERRY boat shoes! I wear boat shoes every day anyway and now I can wear these for dress up! Looks great with jeans, skirts and Bermuda shorts.
 
Products Related to My Review
 
Review 7 for Women's Darlington Penny Lug Heel
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Comfort: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Style: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Size: 
Fits 1/2 Size Too Big
Width: 
Fits Wide
Customer avatar
Yes, I recommend this product.

Comfortable and stylish

PostedJuly 14, 2012
I love the style of the shoe. They are great with a pair of jeans on casual Fridays. They are great for walking. I love the fact that they are beautifully lined.
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Women's Darlington Penny Lug Heel
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Comfort: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Style: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Size: 
Fits 1/2 Size Too Big
Customer avatar
From: Los Angeles, CA
Size and Width Ordered: 8 M
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Product Use:Casual wear
Yes, I recommend this product.

Order one half size down

PostedJune 26, 2012
I really like these shoes; however, for me I will need to return these and order 1/2 size down. I often have this problem with pump style shoes, they are often 1/2 size too loose in the ankle area.
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Women's Darlington Penny Lug Heel
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Comfort: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Style: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Size: 
Fits True to Size
Width: 
Fits True to Size
Customer avatar
From: Cleveland, OH
Size and Width Ordered: 7M
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Product Use:Casual wear
Yes, I recommend this product.

Quiet!!

PostedMay 18, 2012
Love the shoe. It's great to walk, and not hear the sound of your footsteps echoing down the hallway. Plus they're very stylish.
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Women's Darlington Penny Lug Heel
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Comfort: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Style: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Size: 
Fits 1 Size Too Big
Width: 
Fits True to Size
Customer avatar
From: NY/NJ
Size and Width Ordered: 8.5 M
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Product Use:Casual wear
Yes, I recommend this product.

runs big

PostedMay 2, 2012
i recently bought sandals in an 8 and they just fit, so I ordered these in an 8.5 since I will be wearing a sock with them and they are too big! They are VERY comfortable and the heel is great. I think I will order in the lighter color in a size 8. I'm on the fence about the light color platform with the black suede. i wish the platform was darker, it appears darker in the picture than in person.
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Women's Darlington Penny Lug Heel
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Comfort: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Style: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Size: 
Fits True to Size
Width: 
Fits True to Size
Customer avatar
From: Los Angeles, A
Size and Width Ordered: 8 1/2
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Product Use:Casual wear
Yes, I recommend this product.

Beautiful Shoe

PostedApril 12, 2012
I have the black suede style and love them. I would have ordered the Corovan Leather had I seen them first. I guess I better have these too!
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Women's Darlington Penny Lug Heel
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Comfort: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Style: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Size: 
Fits True to Size
Customer avatar
From: Texas Gulf Coast
Size and Width Ordered: 7M
Age:55-65
Gender:Female
Product Use:Casual wear
Yes, I recommend this product.

Beautiful shoe

PostedMarch 22, 2012
I wore these to my dentist appt. he commented on them the first thing....loved them. Great with jeans. Comfortable too!
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Women's Darlington Penny Lug Heel
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Comfort: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Style: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Size: 
Fits True to Size
Customer avatar
From: Eastern NC
Size and Width Ordered: 9
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Product Use:Casual wear
Yes, I recommend this product.

My Favorite Shoe

PostedFebruary 19, 2012
I bought these shoes early in the fall and they quickly became my favorites. Almost everytime I wear them, someone comments or even asks where I purchased them. I purchased the cognac color and they are so comfortable and stylish. It would be great if Sperry designed a pair in black leather.
3 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Women's Darlington Penny Lug Heel
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Comfort: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Style: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Size: 
Fits True to Size
Customer avatar
From: Detroit, MI
Size and Width Ordered: 6.5 M
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Product Use:Casual wear
Yes, I recommend this product.

You will not regret this purchase

PostedDecember 15, 2011
This shoe is beautiful and classy, But most importantly, it is great for your feet. You can even shop in the shoes. Looks good with dress casual career clothes as well as dockers on the weekend.
3 of 4 found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Women's Darlington Penny Lug Heel
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Comfort: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Style: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Width: 
Fits True to Size
Customer avatar
From: Breckenridge CO
Size and Width Ordered: 8M
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Product Use:Casual wear
Yes, I recommend this product.

Love em!

PostedNovember 10, 2011
I recently purchased these shoes and I love them! They are comfortable. Even with the high heel and platform they are easy to walk in and I have gotten a lot of comments on how cute they are. They look great with skirts and tights as well as pants.
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Women's Darlington Penny Lug Heel
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Comfort: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Style: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Size: 
Fits 1/2 Size Too Small
Width: 
Fits True to Size
Customer avatar
From: Dallas, TX
Size and Width Ordered: 8M
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Product Use:Casual wear
No, I do not recommend this product.

I love the look of this shoe...

PostedOctober 27, 2011
But it is tight and uncomfortable. I wear an 8 straight across the board, but this 8 is too tight. I had really looked forward to a casual leather shoe for fall/winter, and so far they have only left my feet hurting at the end of the day. I will give them one more chance to "break them in", but right now they're not the Sperry Top Siders I loved from previous purchases.
6 of 6 found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Women's Darlington Penny Lug Heel
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Comfort: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Style: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Size: 
Fits True to Size
Customer avatar
From: NRH, TX
Size and Width Ordered: 9.5
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Product Use:Casual wear
Yes, I recommend this product.

Beautiful, classic loafer

PostedOctober 26, 2011
Beautiful shoe; even prettier in person; friends & family love them & want them. They fit perfect. I ordered my exact size. They even come with "lucky pennies"! Worth every penny :) Very good construction & materials. Very comfortable - hard to believe the heel is 4 inches.
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Women's Darlington Penny Lug Heel
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Comfort: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Style: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Size: 
Fits 1/2 Size Too Small
Width: 
Fits True to Size
Customer avatar
From: CT
Size and Width Ordered: 8.5M
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Product Use:Casual wear
Yes, I recommend this product.

Adorable Penny Loafer With Serious Height

PostedOctober 25, 2011
I'm in love with my Winsor loafers and have been wearing them to death so I decided to buy these. They're really cute and I like having a preppy heel option, but they're not as comfortable as a typical Sperry shoe. The foot-bed is really hard. I have a LOT of shoes and I wear a lot of heels and I think that Sperry (who is known for their comfortable shoes) could have done a better job with this one. As far as looks go, they can't be beat. I received compliments from guys and gals on these. You know a shoe is cute when a guy likes them! With regards to fit, I wear an 8 in Angelfish, and an 8.5 in all other shoes. I don't like my shoes to be tight. I took an 8.5 in the Winsor. The 8.5 barely fit me in these, but I don't want to deal with the hassle of exchanging them. I can wear them with tights but I won't be able to wear them with socks.
 
Products Related to My Review
Women's Winsor Lug Penny Loafer
4.2 out of 5(30)
 
 
 
 
 
 
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Women's Darlington Penny Lug Heel
Overall Rating: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Comfort: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Style: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer avatar
From: Lexington, KY
Size and Width Ordered: 7M
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Product Use:Casual wear
No, I do not recommend this product.

Dissappointed

PostedOctober 14, 2011
I bought the Cordovan leather. I loved the look of this shoe but I couldn't find a size that fit me. The 6.5 was too tight in the toe and the 7 kept slipping off of my heels. Sperry, please examine the fit of this shoe.
4 of 4 found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Women's Darlington Penny Lug Heel
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Comfort: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Style: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Size: 
Fits True to Size
Customer avatar
From: California
Size and Width Ordered: 7M
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Product Use:Casual wear
Yes, I recommend this product.

I love them!

PostedOctober 6, 2011
The cognac color blends with a bare leg, making your legs look longer. And I'm a heels person, and I have to say they are much more comfortable than most heels. You can actually wear them all day. The sole bends with your foot and the grippy bottom keeps them from being slippery. I'm wearing them all the time. I usually wear a 7 or 7.5 and the 7 fit in these. The soft suede has lots of give so they were easy to break in.
5 of 5 found this review helpful.
1 2 Next>>